she makes me wonder

she makes me wonder
how much more there is
than the pleasures I’ve enjoyed
less the safety and the comfort
of the distance I’ve maintained

she leaves me hungry
for those flavors life’s concealing
ones so savored, briefly tasted
now recalled with bitter sweetness
amid far off thoughts of love

she makes me stronger
by embracing fear and weakness
as humanity’s occasion
to raise courage and endurance
from which faith draws its first breath

she leaves me hopeful
that a better person rises
than the one she kissed last evening
who received her heart completely
but held still onto his own

she makes me wonder
how much more remains
than the time my soul has taken
seeking safety, seeking comfort
at this distance yet maintained.

Leave a Reply

