angel

there must have been a time
so many tears ago
when you prayed against those nightmares
that swept away your dreams

I was somewhere else then
unaware and unacquainted
with the birth of that distant smile
that cool, beautiful mask

yet I can feel this past
it is a part of me
as if the memories were my own
witnessed from beside you

my feeling knows no cause
no reason but that prayers
(our hope-filled pleas to the source of all)
survive the spoken word

and there is a purpose
an aim to their survival
one revealed as intuition
confirmed within a sigh

it breathes in conversation
to an atmosphere of faith
so I might question of the mask
and you might think to lift it

it is a difficult thing
to trust, to believe again
to aspire to the fairy tale
of a youth that now seems lost

but all that draws me to you
speaks of greater dreams awaiting
concealed along with all you are
in bittersweet disguise

it tells me there’s a magic
beyond the masquerade
one in need of incantation
to summon forth its charms

now, as I pray for words
kneeling as you did before
I realize through my faith in you
the first I heal is me.

Leave a Reply

