return of the ripper

I must have walked these thoroughfares

some centuries ago

a taste for blood upon my lips

an evil now well known

 

these alleyways and corners

these empty lonely streets

I sense they were my feeding ground

my butcher shop of meets

 

you were just a child then

a trusting, loving soul

who offered me your wounded heart

then played the victim’s role

 

the deepest cut was that struck first

though each drew darker red

I bathed in all your tender warmth

and reveled as you bled

 

when you outlived your usefulness

your body drained and cold

I left your pieces to the dregs

the starving, weak, and old

 

I knew nothing then of love

consumed by basic lust

until the day my body died

my all reduced to dust

 

no measure of a soul was found

no lessons had I learned

this surely was the reason

I since was here returned

 

I knew not of my past deeds

when next you came my way

with beauty of such magnitude

it took my breath away

 

your essence filled a void in me

and I began anew

seeking warmth in different form

through my true love for you

 

but something strange and secret

kept you and I apart

I felt a coolness to your touch

reflected in your heart

 

“close, but not that close,” you said

words echoing a fear

at once I recognized your stare

as holding back a tear

 

your disposition and its cause

preoccupied my mind

no reason could you offer me

nor any could I find

 

until the nightmares started

those brutal memories

of cries, of blood, of chaos

of what was once then me

 

I left you there in agony

a hapless, helpless sight

eternity in hell is mine

for what I did that night

 

now here I sit, my love is gone

the sun begins to fade

I feel the taste of lust once more

just playing with this blade

 

Leave a Reply

