this quiet room

sometime in this quiet room

a woman wept for one held dear

she is gone now, passed from sight

but her sorrow lingers here

 

empty darkness bares her eyes

constant with those bitter tears

wrung from passion’s memory

they fall away as wasted years

 

this atmosphere is sick and damp

smothering my every breath

I fear the fire in my soul

has begun to catch its death

 

had I only known back then

how to spare her pain

warmth and sunshine would there be

in place of endless rain

 

but this condition, long ignored

condemns the very place

we, together, once called home

and shared our last embrace

 

pity me, you god of flame

as flickers faint my fire

for the floodgates I have loosed

that drown all my desire

Leave a Reply

