uncommon candy

there is little in this life

to rival the taste of sweetness

that lingers on my lips tonight

in the memories of your kiss

 

nor much else that burns as hot

as your marrow poured into mine

like some scorching seething flow

of a candied molten lava

 

between happy and broken

I am completely tapped out

waiting on the fever to break

so I can catch my breath again

 

it has been nearly four hours

and I still taste the sugar

and I still feel the fire

and everything is spinning

 

yet there is still clarity

enough to take the lesson

true passion lay not in the touch

but deep beneath a hungry skin

Leave a Reply

