to my unknown beloved

which of my sins, I wonder

keeps me away from you?

what careless act committed

leaves destiny outwitted

and our spirit split in two?

 

what a shameful waste it was

in thought, in word, in deed

as should tip the hand of fate

who, concealing my soul’s mate

now creates this endless need

 

in my travels I have searched

seen beauty, charm, and grace

but of passion, and of fire,

all the things I most desire,

seen barely but a trace

 

tell me, are you there my dear?

did our paths cross on this day?

is the sin of which I speak

merely that I was too meek

and could find no words to say?

 

 

Leave a Reply

